Pac-12 Basketball Hall of Honor to induct Nate Robinson

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. – The Pac-12 Conference will honor 11 former student-athletes and one former coach with their induction into the Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Hall of Honor. The induction will occur on Saturday, March 16, during a ceremony prior to the Championship Game at the 2013 Pac-12 Men’s Basketball Tournament held at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nev.

The individuals to be inducted are: Jason Gardner (Arizona), Dennis Hamilton (Arizona State), Shareef Abdur-Rahim (California), Cliff Meely (Colorado), Chuck Rask (Oregon), Charlie Sitton (Oregon State), Ron Tomsic (Stanford), Lucius Allen (UCLA), Forrest Twogood (USC), Keith Van Horn (Utah), Nate Robinson (Washington) and James McKean (Washington State).

Nate Robinson, Washington – Robinson was a two-sport athlete shining not only on the basketball court, but also as a defensive back on the football field for the Washington Huskies. Robinson made an impact on the basketball team immediately as he led the team with 13.0 points per game his freshman year and made the Pac-12 All-Freshman team. He continued his success into his sophomore season in 2004 when he scored a team-high 13.2 ppg and led the Huskies to their first post-season appearance under head coach Lorenzo Romar. He led the team in scoring for a third straight year increasing his points to 16.4 points per game for his junior season. He was recognized that year as a third-team All-American and first team All-Pac-10 selection. The Huskies finished 29-6 that season, won the 2005 Pac-12 tournament championship and obtained the school’s first-ever No. 1 NCAA tournament seed, where they advanced to the Sweet 16. Robinson left Washington after his junior season declaring for the NBA Draft. He was selected in the first round of the 2005 NBA Draft by the the Phoenix Suns with the 21st overall pick. He was then traded to the New York Knicks where he played from 2005-2010. He currently plays for the Chicago Bulls, but played for the Boston Celtics (2010-11), Oklahoma City Thunder (2011) and the Golden State Warriors (2012). Robinson is the only three-time winner of the NBA Slam Dunk Contest, winning the title in 2006, 2009 and 2010.